Breaking News

JCILPS submits memorandum to Governor Dr Ahmed urged to give nod to Bills

IMPHAL: Delegates of Joint Committee on Inner Line Permit System (JCILPS) led by its convener in-charge Ratan Khomdram met the Governor of Manipur Dr Syed Ahmed in his bungalow today and urged him to give his assent to the three Bills passed by the State Assembly on Aug 31.
Manipur State Assembly passed the Protection of Manipur Peoples Bill 2015, the Manipur Land Revenue and Land Reform (Seventh Amendment) Bill, 2015 and the Manipur Shops and Establishment (Second Amendment) Bill, 2015 after the JCILPS pressed the State Government hard to bring out a mechanism to save the indigenous people of the State.

The JCILPS delegates submitted a memorandum to the Governor stating that due to some misunderstanding and misjudgment on the nature and scope of the Bills, the State has been reeling under serious tension which the JCILPS presumed are the result of 'outside influence.'

Further, the memorandum said that the JCILPS has no intention of hurting the sentiments of the hill people of Manipur and has no intention of alienating ‘our ethnic brothers and sisters of the hill region.’

After meeting the Governor, convener in-charge of JCILPS, Ratan informed media persons that JCILPS is taking up steps to mend people to people relations in order to bring the multi-ethnic, multi-cultural, multi-religious and multi-linguistic societies of Manipur together.

"We are hopeful that the Governor will give his ‘assent’ to the Bills passed by the State Assembly so that they become Acts," he added.

Further, he said that the Bills were passed after a number of CSOs, both from the hills and valley areas, have had seminars, discussions and talks.

The State Assembly passed the Bills without any obstruction from any of the MLAs. The chaos and tension creeping in today is the handi-works of some external forces, he maintained.

The JCILPS delegates included co-convener BK Moirangcha, Arjun Telheiba, Ksh Somorendro, Kheirudin Moijing Mayum, Haopu Kom and consultative members of the memorandum drafting committee Lokendro Arambam, Phulindro Konsam, Yumnamcha Dillipkumar and Th Bhorot.

Source: The  Sangai Express Daily

No comments